Bellevue Population: 50,137*


Historic Bellevueans

   J. S. Allen
   S. D. Bangs
   Maj. Barrow
   Hiram Bennett
   Isaiah N. Bennett
   Francis Burt
   F. Calkins
   H. T. Clarke
   Col.  Stephen Decatur
   Mr. Dunbar
   Mr. Ellis
   William R. English
   John Finney
   C. D. Keller
   George Nepner
   William R. English
   A. C. Ford
   James M. Galewood
   William Gilmer
   James Gow
   Esquire Griffin
   Rev.  Mr. Hamilton
   A. W. Hollister
   L. B. Kinney
   Manuel Lesa
   Col. R. Lovejoy
   Walter Lowrie
   M. S. Martyn
   Rev.  Edward McKinney
   P. J. McMahon
   J. Sterling Morton
   George Nepner
   D. E. Reed
   Gen. Peter A. Sarpy
   C. E. Smith
   S. A. Strickland
   J. A. Thompson
   George T. Turner
   Dr. Upjohn
   Watson brothers
   W. W. Wiley


NE Neighbors

    South Dakota


The Sarpy County Seat.

All of Sarpy County was once the lower half of Douglas County.  On February 1st, 1857, Douglas County was divided to form Sarpy County.

By the 1870s, settlers had increased the populous of surrounding communities.  General Peter A. Sarpy's domain called "Sarpy Center" was well established and recognized.  To the west was Papillion.  The county seat was still in Bellevue, however, these newer communities understood the implications of holding this prestigious honor.

Legislative discussions showed there was enough interest to put the issue to a vote.  It was decided that an election would be held between the three communities with the top two deciding in a second vote, and the one with the least number of votes withdrawing.  In the first vote, Sarpy Center won out, with Papillion coming in second.  This meant that Bellevue had to drop out.

It would seem likely that Sarpy Center would win out in the second election, however, to eliminate any possibility of losing, Major Spearman of Sarpy Center introduced a bill to the legislature suggesting that Sarpy Center be appointed the county seat and skip a second election.  His plan backfired, although barely, and Papillion won the election, holding the honor to this day.

Where is Sarpy Center now?  Sarpy Center has since gone the way of Fairview, Forest City, Hazelton, and Plattford, other early towns in Sarpy County.

More info.  Back to the top of this page.

You can call the Bellevue tourist center at 402-293-3080 (or 800-467-2779).

Also Read

Also see:

A great page on Bellevue history.

Load time: 0.909 seconds